Appalachian Springs by The Verve

The first song I ever heard by The Verve was ‘Rather Be‘ on Channel [V], if I’m not wrong (it could have been MTV). The song has since been one of my favourites. For some reason, it brings to me a sense of happiness and well-being. Both ‘Rather Be’ and ‘Appalachian Springs’ are from the band’s last album, and also their best: Forth.

I think, it took me 6-7 years to listen to other songs by The Verve. It’s because I had a habit: once I really like a song by a band or an artist, I wouldn’t listen to more of their stuff for fear of getting disappointed. O the monster of disappointment! I won’t say I don’t ever feel like that any more; the feeling does return at times. It recently happened with Mrittika’s ‘Jochhona‘. And I’m sorry to say my fears did come true.

Anyway, I have recently changed the way I listen to music because P told me to. I don’t have a play-list of random songs by random favourite bands/artists. I choose artists and listen to their discographies one at a time.

I also had (and I guess still have) the habit of setting myself up for failure. What with my huge lists of books to read and reviews to post. Somehow, my mind was making sure I keep running around through the same things like a hamster on a wheel. And I wasn’t even making any electricity out of it, just poo. So, why I’m saying this is, instead of thinking of posting ‘a review’ of the The Verve discography, I’m just noting down the experience of listening to this one song – Appalachian Springs – and how it makes me feel. Forget everything else.

I’m hooked to this song for days now. It keeps playing in my head when I’m about to fall asleep, when I wake up, when I’m walking my dog, right now as I write this… and it will continue to until I finally get into the train and plug my earphones in. I don’t know if the song is extraordinarily good, my mind just seems to be fixated on it.

These are my favourite lines from the song:

Took a step to the left, took a step to the right
And I saw myself and it wasn’t quite right
Took a step to the left, I took a step to the right
I keep it together, yeah

It is a moody song, and I guess it reflects exactly what I’ve been feeling for a while now: wondering about right and wrong, while trying to ‘keep it together’ even though something doesn’t feel quite right.

***

P.S.: The Appalachian Springs video wrongly credits Billie Holiday’s Solitude. But, such a haunting video! It captures the essence of the song, I feel. Total win.

One thought on “Appalachian Springs by The Verve

Leave a Reply

