Poem of the week: Week Twenty Eight.

And the final July poem from the poetry book Twentyfour Poems by Indrajit Hazra.

Hollowness
– Indrajit Hazra

Stare aghast
You blank wall face
And see me spin in oblivion.
What dreams I had
Melt in melting pot of reality
And sand.

That you may clap
My misdeeds past
And see my body bare
And seek refuge in my eyes
Crater twins of doomsday domes
Blinking
Drinking the world afraid
Yet not afraid to die.

Childhood cooks up bloating wants
white wishes
And pink desires.
All that seems a faded froth
Too ill to wade,
Too sick to bathe
Still unable to succumb
To plastic deaths in pillar box
So still,
Too still to lie.

The use of knowledge
Grows bankrupt
With every skipping time ahead.
What news can there be for me?
Which blind man’s point
That I appoint
Will make me choose my life
Tumble,
Lose my balance fall
And wait to hit the ground?

The hibiscus dies in the painted pot,
The headless chicken runs
The night sky
With its false window panes
Slowly pales the sun.

***

Leave a Reply

