Poem of the week: Week Twenty Four.

And the last poem for the month of June (finally): my second favourite from Manohar Shetty’s collection of poems Personal Effects.

Sleepless
Manohar Shetty

I’ve forgotten the function
Of alarm clocks and how
Sunrise kindles the eyes.

By five, I’ve chainsmoked
To the dawn of early
Walkers, immortal tennis

Players; the pulp and starch
Of unread newspapers.
Exotica blooms in my good

Neighbour’s garden. In my
Unwatered patch, begonias
Go to seed, passion-flowers

Wilt and marigolds
Smell of funerals. I watch
The hands of the wall-clock

Tick backwards, time a
Flatline in my heart as morning
Blinks in the kitchen.

Leftovers rankle in the bin.
Flies lie dead
On the gas ring.

***

Leave a Reply

