Poem of the week: Week Sixteen.

And the last April poem. The theme is ‘Exile’. This is from The Little Magazine’s India in Verse anthology.

Missed out directions
Kalapriya

Those who
Have no faces
Have no directions either

For the one who
Got the divinations
Right in the womb
Where is direction
What is direction

Searching the orient
Looking for eastern faces
Travelling across
The globe
I returned to my own
Direction
I saw
My faces

Went to sleep
Gathering my faces
When I woke up
The sun was burning
A few with burnt heads were
Running helter-skelter
In the streets
Over the kolams
And my head too

Started to melt

Translated from the Tamil by A. S. Panneerselvan

***

 

 

Leave a Reply

