The Twenty-Seventh Rule of Love

I asked Shams if it didn’t trouble him that he was so widely misunderstood and underappreciated. Scarcely able to contain my apprehension, I pointed out that he had gained many enemies lately. 

Shams looked at me blankly, as if he had no idea what I was talking about. “But I have no enemies,” he said with a shrug. “The lovers of God can have critics and even rivals, but they cannot have enemies. 

“Yes, but you quarrel with people,” I objected.

Shams bristled with fervor. “I don’t quarrel with them, I quarrel with their inflated sense of themselves. That’s different.”

“This world is like a snowy mountain that echoes your voice. Whatever you speak, good or evil, will somehow come back to you. Therefore, if there is someone who harbors ill thoughts about you, saying similarly bad things about him will only make matters worse. You will be locked in a vicious circle of malevolent energy. Instead, for forty days and nights say and think nice things about that person. Everything will be different at the end of forty days, because you will be a different person inside.”

Leave a Reply

